Cancel a session
You can manually cancel a Boundary session using the Admin UI or the boundary sessions cancel CLI command to free resources or stop unauthorized access, for example, if you detect unexpected activity. Boundary cancels sessions automatically when they reach their time limit or a related resource is removed.
Associated resources can include the:
- Host, host set, or host catalog
- Credential, credential library, or credential store
- Target, project, or organization
- User, user account, or authentication method
If you create a session and no longer need it, you can manually cancel it to free resources. You may also need to cancel a session for security reasons, such as when you detect unexpected or unauthorized activity.
Boundary revokes any credentials associated with the session when a session is canceled.
Complete the following steps to cancel a session:
Log in to Boundary.
In the navigation menu, select Orgs.
Select the org that contains the project for which you want to view sessions.
Select the project.
In the navigation menu, select Sessions.
Click Cancel next to the session you want to cancel.
The session status changes to
cancelingand thenterminated.
More information
- To better understand sessions, refer to Overview of sessions.
- For more specific information about how the session resource relates to other Boundary resources, refer to the Sessions domain model topic.
- To view the possible session parameters, refer to the session CLI or API documentation.
Next steps
- View session information including the session ID, user who initiated the session, target name, start date, and session status.
- Pre-authorize a session by creating an authorization token in advance.